Customer experience management

Customer Effort Score (CES):
Definition, goal, sample questionnaire, template, software, live online presentation

Customer Effort Score CES
TRY OUT CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE NOW FOR FREE
INNOVATIVE
COST EFFICIENT
ONLINE & OFFLINE
FAST ROLL-OUT

TRY OUT NOW

Quickly and easily question the interaction friendliness at the interfaces between your company and your customers Customer Effort Score (CES) and the CX software from QuestionPro

Definition: What is the Customer Effort Score (CES)

The Customer Effort Score (CES) is a method for measuring the degree of interaction friendliness as well as the service orientation of a company at the contact points between products, brands, services and the customers of a company. The Customer Effort Score (CES) is collected by means of customer surveys, mostly in the context of touchpoint surveys, with the aim of promoting customer loyalty and customer satisfaction by reducing customer efforts at the contact points between customers and the company.

How can the Customer Effort Score be determined?

CES survey after every customer interaction

The CES can be determined very easily through targeted and brief surveys of your customers. Basically, companies should collect customer feedback after every interaction, at least where it is possible, in order to be able to see an always up-to-date scoring value and to observe trends and tendencies at the same time.

Easily get CES feedback

Due to the small number of questions (usually only a single question), feedback on the Customer Effort Score can be obtained by sending a survey by e-mail or SMS, or it can be done directly while a customer is visiting your website following an online ordering process. Customers are redirected to a landing site immediately after completing their order, where they can express their opinion via an online questionnaire. Below are some examples of how we can get CES feedback.

Examples of CES questions to obtain the Customer Effort Score

Which of the following statements is most likely to apply to the ordering process for you?
The ordering process went quickly and smoothly

exactly
true
rather applies
rather does not apply
does not apply
not correct at all

The questions for determining the Customer Effort Score can be very different. The following example shows a question with 10 characteristic values.

Customer Effort Score on a 10-point scale


Obtaining feedback to determine the CES is thus done in a standardised way by means of a single-choice question, but can also be done in combination with a free-text assessment. QuestionPro offers a function for this, the "Dynamic Comment Box", which is only shown when customers click on an answer option, in the following example a negative answer option. After the box has been activated by clicking on a negative answer option, customers can write text comments here and describe exactly what they disliked. The free text comments can then be qualitatively evaluated.

Customer Effort Score CES with free text answer


Another very simple way to determine the CES is, for example, the like / dislike answer option.

Customer Effort Score Like & Dislike question type

It is just as easy to determine the customer effort score using smiley ratings. In this example, customers have 5 response options.

Customer Effort Score CES Smiley Rating


If you want your customers to answer several questions at once to determine the Customer Effort Score, it is advisable to work with so-called "matrix questions". This is clear and easy to answer.

Customer Effort Score question


As you can see, there are a number of ways to determine the Customer Effort Score. We have prepared a CES sample questionnaire for you.

Of course, the Customer Effort Score does not only refer to the ordering process. The sample questions above can also be applied to support requests, complaints, customer service performance, information findability, contact availability and many other customer interactions.

Achieve a constant improvement process through permanent CES surveys

A company that generally has low customer satisfaction can use the Customer Effort Score to evaluate problem areas at the interfaces between customers and the company. Once you have identified which of these touchpoints require the most effort from your customers to achieve a desired outcome (such as resolving a support issue or ordering a product), you can begin to implement improvement measures. However, you should also track these by means of follow-up surveys to make sure that your measures are actually taking effect. In this way, you achieve a continuous improvement process.

Differences between Customer Effort Score and Net Promoter Score

The Customer Effort Score (CES) and the Net Promoter Score (NPS) are important Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) with their own advantages and disadvantages. While the Customer Effort Score is more service-oriented, the Net Promoter Score is more oriented towards customer satisfaction and business development.

The NPS represents the probability of a recommendation by customers. "How likely are you to recommend company X to a friend or colleague? The NPS is usually used to question loyalty towards a brand and the company.

CES measures the factor of ease and speed of handling customer concerns, which can be more informative for service departments in particular to improve customer service and support. Although the Customer Effort Score is not an exact measure of customer satisfaction, you can draw conclusions from the smoothness of interactions between your customers and your company.

How to use the Customer Effort Score and the Net Promoter Score together

The NPS is popular because it can easily analyse two important aspects: Customer loyalty and expected business development. Promoters tend to stay loyal to a business and are also a great source of free marketing through referrals to family and friends. A promoter is loyal to your business, but it is important to remember that they are not guaranteed to stay loyal if the customer experience leaves something to be desired.

The NPS therefore measures more the general feeling a customer has towards your company and thus cannot be used to measure a specific customer service experience. The CES, on the other hand, measures the ease with which customer problems can be solved. It can be extremely effective in understanding obstacles in the customer experience so that you can remove those obstacles and indirectly increase customer loyalty.

Customer Effort Score versus Net Promoter Score

1:1 live online presentation:
Customer Effort Score (CES) quickly and easily with CX software from QuestionPro

As part of a 1:1 live online presentation, we would be happy to present you with a vivid illustration of how you can measure the Customer Effort Score (CES) quickly and easily and clearly analyse and interpret the data from the Customer Effort Score.

Arrange an appointment now!



Test the Customer Effort Score software

If you have any questions about the Customer Effort Score, please do not hesitate to contact us. Create your own Customer Effort Score (CES) and test it QuestionPro now 10 days free of charge and without automatic renewal!

Try QuestionPro's market research and experience management platform for free.

FREE TRIAL


back to blog overview


Would you like to stay up to date?
Follow us on  Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn


SHARE THIS ARTICLE

FURTHER INFORMATION

SHARE ARTICLE ON CUSTOMER EFFORT SCORE (CES)

SEARCH & FIND

MORE POSTS

PRESS RELEASES

NEWSLETTER

By submitting this form, I agree to my data being stored by the mailing provider Mailchimp (mailchimp.com) for the purpose of sending the newsletter. You can revoke the storage at any time.
 
Platform for market research and experience management

Customer Effort Score (CES): definition, goals, example - QuestionPro

Cookie Notice

This website uses cookies to improve the use and optimize the content. User interactions are evaluated anonymously. By continuing to use the website, you consent to the use of cookies. Data protection declaration of QuestionPro Imprint - QuestionPro GmbH

Make a selection to continue

Your selection has been saved!

additional information

Explanations

In order to continue you will need to make a cookie selection. Below is an explanation of the different options and what they mean.

  • OK:
    All cookies, including tracking and web analysis cookies, are accepted. IP addresses are anonymized in any case.
  • Deactivate all cookies:
    No cookies are set, apart from the cookie that saves your selection and cookies that are necessary for the operation of the website, such as session cookies. Personal data is not recorded or saved in the process.

If you would like to use this website entirely without cookies, please deactivate the cookie setting in your browser. You can change your cookie setting here at any time: Data protection declaration of QuestionPro. Imprint - QuestionPro GmbH

Back

Customer Experience Management

Customer Effort Score (CES):
Definition, Ziel, Beispiel-Fragebogen, Vorlage, Software, Live-Online-Präsentation

Customer Effort Score CES
CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE JETZT KOSTENLOS TESTEN
INNOVATIV
KOSTENEFFIZIENT
ONLINE & OFFLINE
SCHNELLER ROLL-OUT

TESTEN

Hinterfragen Sie schnell und einfach die Interaktionsfreundlichkeit an den Schnittstellen Ihres Unternehmens zu Ihren Kunden mit dem Customer Effort Score (CES) und der CX Software von QuestionPro

Definition: Was ist der Customer Effort Score (CES)

Der Customer Effort Score (CES) ist eine Methode zur Messung des Grades der Interaktionsfreundlichkeit sowie der Serviceorientierung eines Unternehmens an den Kontaktpunkten zwischen Produkten, Marken, Dienstleistungen und den Kunden eines Unternehmens. Der Customer Effort Score (CES) wird mittels Kundenbefragungen erhoben, meist im Rahmen von Touchpoint Befragungen, mit dem Ziel, die Kundenbindung  und Kundenzufriedenheit durch Reduzierung der Kundenbemühungen an den Kontaktpunkten zwischen Kunden und Unternehmen zu fördern.

Wie läßt sich der Customer Effort Score ermitteln?

CES-Befragung nach jeder Kundeninteraktion

Der CES läßt sich sehr einfach durch gezielte und knappe Befragungen Ihrer Kunden ermitteln. Im Grunde sollten Unternehmen im Anschluss an eine jede Interaktion Kundenfeedback einholen, zumindest da, wo es möglich ist, um auf einen immer aktuellen Scoringwert blicken zu können und um gleichzeitig Trends und Tendenzen zu beobachten.

Einfache Gewinnung von CES-Feedback

Die Gewinnung von Feedback zum Customer Effort Score kann aufgrund des geringen Umfangs von Fragen (meist ist es nur eine einzige) durch den Versand einer Umfrage per E-Mail oder SMS erfolgen, oder aber während des Besuches eines Kunden auf Ihrer Website geschehen, etwa direkt im Anschluss an einen Online-Bestellvorgang. Hierbei werden Kunden direkt nach dem Bestellabschluss auf eine Landingsite weitergeleitet, auf der sie Ihre Meinung über einen Online-Fragebogen kundtun können. Folgend finden Sie einige Beispiele zur Gewinnung von CES Feedback.

Beispiele von CES-Fragen zur Gewinnung des Customer Effort Scores

Welche der folgenden Aussagen trifft für Sie am ehesten auf den Bestellvorgang zu?
Der Bestellvorgang verlief schnell und reibungslos

trifft vollständig zu
trifft zu
trifft eher zu
trifft eher nicht zu
trifft nicht zu
trifft überhaupt nicht zu

Die Fragestellungen zur Ermittlung des Customer Effort Score können ganz unterschiedlich sein. Im folgenden Beispiel sehen eine Fragestellung mit 10 Merkmalsausprägungen.

Customer Effort Score auf einer 10-Punkte Skala


Die Gewinnung des Feedbacks zur Ermittlung des CES geschieht also standardisiert mittels Single-Choice-Frage, kann aber auch in Kombination mit einer Freitext-Bewertung erfolgen. QuestionPro bietet hierfür eine Funktion an, die “Dynamische Kommentarbox”, die erst eingeblendet wird, wenn Kunden eine Antwortoption anklicken, im folgenden Beispiel eine negative Antwortoption. Nach dem die Box durch das Anklicken einer negativen Antwortoption aktiviert wurde, können Kunden hier Textkommentare verfassen und genau beschreiben, was ihnen missfallen hat. Die Freitextkommentare können anschließend qualitativ ausgewertet werden.

Customer Effort Score CES mit Freitext-Antwort


Eine weitere, sehr einfache Möglichkeit zur Ermittlung des CES ist beispielsweise die Like/Dislike – Antwortoption.

Customer Effort Score Like & Dislike Fragetyp

Ebenso einfach ist die Ermittlung des Customer Effort Scores mittels Smiley-Rating. In diesem Beispiel haben Kunden 5 Antwortoptionen.

Customer Effort Score CES Smiley Rating


Wenn Sie wünschen, dass Ihre Kunden gleich mehrere Fragen zur Ermittlung des Customer Effort Scores beantworten sollen, so empfiehlt es sich, mit sogenannten “Matrix-Fragen” zu arbeiten. Das ist übersichtlich und einfach zu beantworten.

Customer Effort Score Frage


Wie sie sehen, gibt es eine Vielzahl an Möglichkeiten, den Customer Effort Score zu ermitteln. Wir haben für Sie einen CES-Beispiel-Fragebogen vorbereitet.

Selbstverständlich bezieht sich der Customer Effort Score nicht ausschließlich auf den Bestellprozess. Die oben aufgeführten Beispielfragen können Sie ebenso auf Supportanfragen, Beschwerden, Kundendienst-Leistungen, Auffindbarkeit von Informationen, Erreichbarkeit von Ansprechpartnern und vielen weiteren Kundeninteraktionen anwenden.

Erreichen Sie durch permanente CES-Befragungen einen stetigen Verbesserungsprozess

Ein Unternehmen, das grundsätzlich eine geringe Kundenzufriedenheit aufweist, kann den Customer Effort Score zur Evaluation von Problembereichen an den Schnittstellen zwischen Kunden und Unternehmen verwenden. Nachdem Sie herausgefunden haben, an welchen dieser Kontaktpunkte Ihre Kunden den größten Aufwand betreiben müssen um zu einem gewünschten Ergebnis zu gelangen (etwa Lösung eines Supportfalls oder die Bestellung eines Produktes), können Sie mit Verbesserungsmaßnahmen beginnen. Diese sollten Sie jedoch auch mittels Nachfolge-Befragungen tracken, um sicherzugehen, dass Ihre Maßnahmen auch tatsächlich greifen. Somit erreichen Sie einen ständigen Verbesserungsprozess.

Unterschiede zwischen Customer Effort Score und Net Promoter Score

Der Customer Effort Score (CES) und der Net Promoter Score (NPS) sind wichtige Key Performance Indikatoren (KPIs) mit ihren eigenen Vor- und Nachteilen. Während der Customer Effort Score eher dienstleistungsorientiert ist, orientiert sich der Net Promoter Score eher an die Kundenzufriedenheit und die Geschäftsentwicklung .

Der NPS stellt die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Empfehlung durch die Kunden dar. “Wie wahrscheinlich ist es, dass Sie Unternehmen X einem Freund oder Kollegen weiterempfehlen? Der NPS wird gewöhnlich verwendet, um Loyalität gegenüber einer Marke und dem Unternehmen zu hinterfragen.

CES misst den Faktor der einfachen und schnellen Handhabung von Kundenanliegen, der insbesondere für Serviceabteilungen aufschlussreicher sein kann, um den Kundenservice und den Support zu verbessern. Obwohl der Customer Effort Score kein exaktes Maß für die Kundenzufriedenheit ist, können Sie aus der Reibungslosigkeit der Interaktionen zwischen Ihren Kunden und Ihrem Unternehmen Rückschlüsse auf die Zufriedenheit Ihrer Kundenziehen.

Wie man den Customer Effort Score und den Net Promoter Score zusammen verwendet

Der NPS ist beliebt, weil er auf einfache Weise zwei wichtige Aspekte analysieren kann: Kundenbindung und erwartete Geschäftsentwicklung. Promotoren neigen dazu, einem Unternehmen treu zu bleiben und sind außerdem eine großartige Quelle für kostenloses Marketing durch Empfehlungen an Familie und Freunde. Ein Promotor ist Ihrem Unternehmen gegenüber loyal, aber es ist wichtig, daran zu denken, dass er nicht garantiert treu bleibt, wenn das Kundenerlebnis zu wünschen übrig lässt.

Der NPS misst also eher das allgemeine Gefühl, das ein Kunde Ihrem Unternehmen gegenüber hat, und kann somit nicht verwendet werden, um ein bestimmtes Kundenservice-Erlebnis zu messen. Der CES hingegen misst die Leichtigkeit, mit der sich Kundenprobleme lösen lassen. Es kann äußerst effektiv sein, wenn es darum geht, Hindernisse im Kundenerlebnis zu verstehen, so dass Sie diese Hindernisse beseitigen und indirekt die Kundenbindung erhöhen können.

Customer Effort Score versus Net Promoter Score

1:1 Live-Online-Präsentation:
Customer Effort Score (CES) schnell und einfach ermitteln mit CX Software von QuestionPro

Wir präsentieren Ihnen im Rahmen einer 1:1 Live-Online-Präsentation sehr gerne und anschaulich, wie Sie den Customer Effort Score (CES) schnell und einfach messen und die Daten aus dem Customer Effort Score übersichtlich analysieren und interpretieren können.

Jetzt Termin vereinbaren!



Customer Effort Score Software testen

Wenn Sie Fragen zum Customer Effort Score haben, dann kontaktieren Sie uns sehr gerne. Erstellen Sie Ihren eigenen Customer Effort Score (CES) und testen Sie QuestionPro jetzt 10 Tage kostenlos und ohne automatische Verlängerung!

Testen Sie kostenfrei und in aller Ruhe die Marktforschungs- und Experience Management Plattform von QuestionPro.

KOSTENLOS TESTEN


zur Artikel-Übersicht


Sie möchten weiterhin auf dem Laufenden bleiben?
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter | Facebook | XING Business Group | LinkedIn


DIESEN ARTIKEL TEILEN

WEITERFÜHRENDE INFOS

ARTIKEL ZUM THEMA CUSTOMER EFFORT SCORE (CES) TEILEN

SUCHEN & FINDEN

WEITERE BEITRÄGE

PRESSEMELDUNGEN

NEWSLETTER ABONNIEREN

Mit dem Versand des Formulars erkläre ich mich einverstanden, dass meine Angaben zum Zweck des Versands des Newsletters beim Mailing-Provider Mailchimp (mailchimp.com) gespeichert werden. Sie können die Speicherung jederzeit widerrufen.
 
Plattform für Marktforschung und Experience Management

Customer Effort Score (CES): Definition, Ziele, Beispiel – QuestionPro

Cookie-Hinweis

Diese Website verwendet Cookies zur Verbesserung der Nutzung und Optimierung der Inhalte. Nutzerinteraktionen werden hierbei anonymisiert ausgewertet. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Datenschutzerklärung von QuestionPro Impressum - QuestionPro GmbH

Treffen Sie eine Auswahl um fortzufahren

Ihre Auswahl wurde gespeichert!

Weitere Informationen

Erklärungen

Um fortfahren zu können, müssen Sie eine Cookie-Auswahl treffen. Nachfolgend erhalten Sie eine Erläuterung der verschiedenen Optionen und was diese bedeuten.

  • EINVERSTANDEN:
    Alle Cookies, u.a. auch Tracking- und Web-Analyse-Cookies, werden akzeptiert. IP Adressen werden in jedem Fall anonymisiert.

Wenn Sie diese Website gänzlich ohne Cookies nutzen möchten, deaktivieren Sie bitte die Cookie-Einstellung in Ihrem Browser. Sie können Ihre Cookie-Einstellung jederzeit hier ändern: Datenschutzerklärung von QuestionPro. Impressum - QuestionPro GmbH

Zurück